Black Bear in Iowa

• Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa

Was out turkey hunting after work this Friday. Got awful windy and the rain was on its way so before dark I started my mile and a half trek back to my Camry. I was walking the edge of a CRP burn when I came to the main trailhead and looked across to the side of a ridge and noticed a large object on the side of a tree. At first, as bears aren’t common in Iowa, I thought someone was out monkeying with a tree stand, which I thought was odd, but whatever. Then as I made my way towards the tree I noticed the mass was black and trying to slide around the tree to the backside of it. It was hairy and I suddenly thought it was a Bigfoot. I got my camera out and popped a picture quick. When I got home, I studied it and realized it was a black bear. After I took the picture. I walked down the trail about 200 yards and looked back and noticed on the side of the tree there was another one up there, smaller and it had a brown coat, not so black. Figure it must’ve been the bear’s cub. Also, I haven’t reported it to the DNR, and was wondering if I should.

Attachments:
    1. 02ADB968-2CED-4B9E-BA17-D97B378CC036.jpeg

2. E98BB5B0-A489-4E42-8921-09ACE6ABDB37.jpeg

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

I urge you to either remove your post or edit out the location. Sadly, someone is going to take this information and go shoot said bear. Bears are NOT protected in Iowa and it is open season on them year around.

Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa

I will, I just wanted people to be aware of where it was, I’m not sure on bear demeanors, especially with cubs.

Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa

Trying to add another pic, the one on here is zoomed in.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

thats pretty cool. bears are generally more afraid of you then most people are of them. just to see that is cool. if there is a momma bear with a cub…there’s gotta be a daddy bear somewhere around???