Big Sandy

• Steve Kracht

Hello All,
    I have a opportunity to use my nieces cabin on Big Sandy, Labor Day weekend / week.
    Never been on the lake, but have always wanted to give it a go.
    Asking if anyone would be willing to pass along general info on the lake, not looking for anyone’s secrets.
    Maybe a phone conversation? Or just reply here.
    Appreciate any help in advance.

Steve

Joe Jarl
    SW Wright County

I preface by saying I’m far from an expert out there. Best advice I can give is use your electronics. As the name implies, a good share of the bottom is sand with very little weed growth and those areas don’t seem to hold a lot of fish. But, there are many areas of structure with good rock that I’ve had decent luck on. Plastics can work, but in my experience it’s a live bait lake. Jig/minnow/leech/crawler, spinners w/ crawlers, slip bobbers, have all produced. Keeper (14″+) walleyes are not the easiest to come by, but you shouldn’t have too much trouble catching a mixed bag for a fish fry. It’s a very stained lake so I typically don’t target any deeper than about 15-18′. Caught a lot of fish in 6-8′ right below the boat.

tim hurley

Look in the Aitkin forum, lots of feedback there. Lots of structure, best thing you could do is spend a bunch of time using SI and look for weeds close to other structure. Or you could do what we do and go to other lakes in the area waytogo

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

It’s a very busy lake on weekends.
    I always did best heading to the backwater down by Zorbaz. Not much for traffic down that way. It’s probably been 10-12 years since I fished it.

Krh129

Steve I sent you a PM.

dbright
    Cambridge