What do you do when the shallow bite turns off?

• greg

Say you’re tossing spinnerbaits or cranks to rip rap, shallow wood, etc. on the river and catching some decent bass. The next day, these fish have seemingly vanished. What do you do?

p.s. This could help me a lot as I’m a bit of a beginner bank beater–especially on the river! BTW, really hammered ’em yesterday around rip rap on topwaters and cranks. Seemed to be really tight to the bank–I couldn’t get a topwater too close and my bro blanked on a deep diver while my dad got ’em on a shallow running crank.

rivereyes
    Osceola, Wisconsin

hmmmm this should be interesting… . we just had a big discussion on the walleye board of what do you do when hot weather sets in…. this question is pretty much the same thing…. might be worth reading as things were discussed such as water temps, light penetration, food availability and such……

Im sorry I dont have any tried and trued answers for this…. but I bet some of our other guys do… for me, I just change rivers… Ive always been able to FIND the fish in smaller rivers…. like say the Root….. or the Cannon… or the Kettle or the Snake or the Rum…… and when you find them you will catch them… cuz you can just mess around until you find what works when….

on the Miss I would probably work the wingdams for SMB…. seems like I catch them all summer on the wingies when Im fishing white bass or walleyes……

greg

For what it’s worth in my experience, rip rap seems to continue to hold fish…possibly just deeper. I’ve always had good luck slowly cranking a shallow rebel cray along rip rap in damn near any condition! Smallies love the thing!

mossboss
    La Crescent, MN

I think you have to look at it as two different topics, smallmouth and largemouth. But first of all remember the first rule of bass fishing……no rule always applies.