Back Surgery

• shamus
    Inactive

I’d like to hear from those of you that have had the microdiscectomy surgery.

I’ve been battling a bulging disc in my back (L4/L5) for the past 3 years. So much so, that I had to quit my normal profession (concrete finisher) and move to the bidding/estimating side to get away from the physical work. While the career change really wasn’t a bad thing I still find that the problem flares up and is now starting to effect my left leg. The only treatment I’ve had is I once had a cortisone shot that didn’t help for long, I’ve taken steroid tapers from the doctor, and finally chiropractic treatments. All of these have helped for a short period, but the disc seems to flare up every 2-3 months now and frankly I’m pretty tired of it. I enjoy being active and I have a daughter on the way. My fear is that I won’t even be able to play with her unless I do something to really fix this.

My past MRI’s have shown that I only have a disc bulge and it’s not severe, nor do I have any bone spurs or back bone problems.
    I’ve heard that microdisectomy can help or fix the problem, but I’d like to hear from those of you that have had the surgery. What was your experience with it, good/bad? Recovery time?

buddah6

I too went through this same misery. I had a bulged disc at l5-s1 and lived with 10/10 pain everyday and night. All I will tell you is do it, do it,do it!!! I went in the afternoon and had the microdisectomy and by the next morning was up and walking pain free. That was about 6 yrs. ago and I still think its the best decision I have ever made. No problems since..

Pauleye
    Onamia

I had the same issues as you are experiencing. In 2005 I had microdisectomy surgery it relieved my pain instantly. I have been virtually pain free since. I get a steriod shot on rare occasions. I waited 20 years and I ask myself why. Don’t wait!!

shamus
    Inactive