Scott Steil… “The REEL Deal”

• In-Depth Webstaff
    Keymaster

With all the talk this winter about artificial structure and how to effectively use this new product to increase catch rates out on the ice we asked In-Depth Outdoors Pro Staffer Scott Steil to put this product to the test. This article covers his finds and provides some very useful insight on how to put this product to good use for yourself.

http://www.in-depthangling.com/articles/steil_reel_weeds.html

lundgeye
    Rochester, Minnesota

Nicely written Scott. I’m sure those of us who have purchased the reel weed product will nod with support (I sure did). I found these weeds on a string to be like magnets , at least for sunfish and perch. Walleyes and crappies were not present when I was filming underwater so I have no experience with them. The largemouth bass, however, sure seemed to stick around when the weeds were down. I bought a 5 pack of weeds and have yet to determine the best pattern for dropping them down. Last time I had them strung out in a straight line…but that may not be optimal. If you have some thoughts on how to place them I’m sure we’d all like to hear your thoughts. Thanks..

outdoors4life
    Stillwater, MN

Great article!

I used my reel weds last weekend and they seemed to help hold the fish around longer even with only 2 lines. I hope to expand the # of lines I have for next year.

Mark Steffes
    Farmington, MN

Great article, I bought a two pack & was wondering what would be the best setup using my fishtrap guide. What I’ve tried so far is to drill 2 holes outside of the trap & fish 2 holes in the trap. Any other input on the use would be helpfull.

scottsteil
    Central MN

You want a set up that gives you some type of depth and stil has a lot of fishable surface. Some that have worked for me:

.’.’. or H or )

If there is no cover around I use the H or the .’.’. because it has a lot of depth to it.