Searching for a Cure-The Ultimate Hike

• Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

-by Bob Prieser

The Ultimate Hike

I’m not sure where to start when it comes to all my thoughts on this Ultimate Hike Weekend that I participated in on August 24, 2013. Do I start when Logan asked me for some fund raising help for this big hike he was going to go on? Do I start with Kaden passing away on December 22? Do I start with when Kaden’s diagnosis went from great to the most terrible news I could imagine? Or do I start when we first learned about Kaden falling at daycare and how his life and his family and friends lives changed from that day on?

I think it is appropriate that I start back in August or September of 2011. My wife and Jaime (Kaden’s mommy) had met through a great Leadership Program with the Rochester, MN Area Chamber of Commerce. Logan (Kaden’s daddy) and I had met before through both of our jobs, he’s with Planning & Zoning and I am a builder. There was a couples night planned, it was to be a night of bowling for all the Leadership participants and their spouses/significant others. I remember my wife telling me to be especially conscious of Jaime; she has a retinal disease that has been taking away her vision since she was in her teens. So my wife is making sure to explain this and that about what might be going on if she can’t see you. Jaime is legally blind, but it’s a sort of extreme tunnel vision. She can indeed see you, if she is able to look right at you and focus in. Now, I’m not one to pull too many punches, so right out of the gate; I’m picking on her jeans, telling her shoes don’t match her outfit, and other things. My wife is slapping me in the arm and chest, but Jaime loves it. You could say that we all just hit it off.