Archery bear hunting

• bobg3723
    Crystal, MN

I am looking for a great outfitter here in the midwest for bear hunting. I want an outfitter that will be able to help a first time bear hunter. I have been hunting for many years but only whitetails. Now I would like to take a shot at a bear. Does anyone have any ideas?

hooknfinger
    Rochester, Minnesota

Did you get a tag this year? if so what zone, i might be able to help you out since im the only one hunting this year

bobg3723
    Crystal, MN

I didn’t put in for it this year. My plan is to learn as much as I can this year and then go out next year.

hooknfinger
    Rochester, Minnesota

Well if you can find a copy, which is almost impossible, look for a book called, Do-it-yourself bear hunting by Dr. Ken nordberg. If you have any questions ask, I am no expert by anymeans but can point you in the right direction to atleast get your setup right

bobg3723
    Crystal, MN

Thank you. I have been wanting to get into bear hunting for a while and I have decided that I just can’t wait any longer. I hope to go next year. But I want to make sure that I some what know what I am doing. I would like to go to a outfitter that can show me the ropes. Or if I could find someone that knows alot about it, just sit down with them and learn as much as I can.

hooknfinger
    Rochester, Minnesota

You can PM me any questions you have, ill take a ton of pictures this year when i set mine up and do a write up on here for the board so you and others can get a general idea on how to set them up.

bobg3723
    Crystal, MN

I was talking to one outfitter and he told me that if I want to hunt in WI, I need to put in for 5-7 years before I will get picked. Is that true? Would it be easier to go to Canada?

lick

not sure depends on zone but at least 4 years ive heard

bobg3723
    Crystal, MN