Another Horseshoe chain question…

• ThunderLund78

Seeing the post regarding the Horseshoe chain resort got me thinking of a trip I been wanting to make. I don’t want to hijack Robby’s post so starting my own…

I’ve been wanting to go up there with my kayak and specifically target cats. I know the Catfish in the chain get a lot of bad publicity from the Walleye folks as they’re arguably displacing the Walleye population, or at least coming up on the end of slip bobber and lindy rigs more often than Walleye are. This is not a post to argue that – but hopefully I could make a few Walleye fisherman happy by taking a few cats home to smoke or blacken-up on the Blackstone with some jambalaya!

My question is, aside from pretending to fish for walleye, what’s the best way to target lake cats? It’s something I’ve never done before. I grew up bottom fishing the MN river with crawlers and the occasional chicken liver or stink bait, but I have to think when the water’s a little more vast, the techniques might change. I realize it’s still a river but I have to think it fishes more like a lake. Anyone willing to share a few Horseshoe catfish techniques to get a guy started?

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

Several years ago I was slow trolling a shoreline (no houses on it) pulling a small DareDevil for Pike. I really couldn’t keep them off the line. I suppose there are better ways but thats what worked when I was there. I would also try a chrome / blue Rattle Trap trolled. Flash & Sound.

Good luck, let us know what worked.

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

It’ll be pretty easy. I think I used crawlers or cut bait under a bobber fishing on top of points. This was over labor day weekend one year.

There was a kid in the cabin next to us who went out on the dock after sunset and he caught them one after another on chicken liver.

ThunderLund78