7.6 PH Level & Horsetail

• ranger777
    OtterTail Cty/Minnetrista

Hey Guys-

I just had a soil test done on a food plot(see the attachment). The plot is right next to a large swamp and it’s showing the current PH at 7.6. The first year(4 years ago) I planted clover and brassicas and it turned out great! Fast forward to this year and the horsetail has taken over to the point where I can’t even plant anything anymore. By spraying/disc’ing the area for a food plot encouraged the horsetail to take off. Gly will not kill it and I’m at a loss as to how to get rid of it. I thought horsetail liked lower PH levels and I was hoping to simply add some lime to discourage the growth. With a 7.6 reading, it’s definitely not low.
    Thoughts?

Attachments:
    1. PasturesoilTest.jpg

sticker
    StillwaterMN/Ottertail county

1st thing is get that PH down a little. 7.6 is too high in my opinion. I am no expert on high Ph though, only had to deal with low PH.

What are you planting in it this year? If brassica, you still have time to hit it with 2-4D to kill the horsetail and I would add in gly to kill what the 2-4D doesn’t. Then fertilize with urea which in itself will lower PH, but also brassica loves N.

ranger777

Yes, hoping to plant brassica’s.

2-4D will kill the horsetail???

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Interesting. Do you mind me asking where your property is located approximately?

Having high pH or alkaline soil is pretty uncommon in the Upper Midwest except in parts of the Dakotas and Northwest Minnesota. Would be interested to know where your property is located.

Horsetail can be killed with 2 4 D, but I believe there are some caveats around certain stages of its growth where 2 4 D is most effective. Definitely not an expert. Just relaying what I’ve heard.

I agree with sticker though. I would try to lower your pH if possible.