4 wheeled walker???

• Hodag Hunter
    Northern Wisconsin

Well my soon to be 98 year old Dad (the 26th) who broke his back (compression fracture of L-1) before Memorial Day is doing good. I finally got to spend 2 hours in my boat yesterday. Today he walked around the entire garden using his cane. My hand on a gate belt of course. I thought a trip to the mailbox was special. Now PT recommends a 4 wheeled walker. I saw a lady today at Blain’s F&F using a “Nitro” walker, she liked it. She got it on Amazon. After a Google search – WOW – I can order it from Japan with free shipping $59. Same exact thing from Amazon $250. What a strange world we live it.

Anybody have experience with a 4 wheeled walker? Needs big wheels is what I’m guessing.

Our church has a thrift store with a room full (old school) of medical stuff. I will look there. I can’t see buying it from some place overseas. Even to save $200.

robby
    Quad Cities

I am a paramedic and see these often. The ones with a seat and bicycle style hand brakes are pretty nice. Most are pretty light weight. I do not know any information on brands, etc.. Are there any Occupational Therapists, home health Nurses, or Nursing Home CNAs on this site that could help?

wirivereyes
    Central WI

Follow the PT’s recommendations.

B-man

On our last fishing trip (Kewaunee) I saw a guy getting around on the pier with what looked like a great four wheel walker.

It was much higher than a normal one, and had flat pads for his arms to rest on with bicycle style break handles.

He was able to walk fully standing up, not bent over like most people you see.

Pat K
    Empire, MN

At the home where my 96 year old FIL lives a few people have ones like B-man described. They look like a more comfortable to use walker.
    Elenker is the brand name on the ones I’ve seen. My SIL is looking into one for her dad.

queenswake
    NULL