trolling question

• John Shear
    Chippewa Falls, WI

Hi guys. Earlier this season (in May) I had done some trolling for walleyes in Wissota and up the river with limited success. I discovered a Rapala Minnow Rap runs about 12 feet deep, so I just trolled (with the electric trolling motor) along in 12 to 13 depths as long as I could feel an occasional tug of a weed or bump of the bottom.
    I did pick up an occasional pike, walleye, and catfish (what a surprise!). Last time I trolled from the Rod & Gun up the west side and got nothing, but I assumed that’s because I was fishing the bottom in 13 feet when the shore actually dropped to 30 feet. I’m guessing I should have been fishing the bottom of the 30 foot drop.
    If I want to troll deeper in the main lake, is it best to try trolling the bottom (with a 3-way rig or something) or is it still worthwhile trolling 12 feet down despite the bottom depth being 30 feet?

This is my first year trolling and I like it because I can cover so much water but I have a lot to learn.
    I’ve been up by Hayward most of June (and again the week of the 4th) so I haven’t had time for Wissota.

Thanks, in advance, for any advice
    John

rembrant
    Waterloo,Iowa

I’d would say learn more about your electronics, no matter where your fishing if theres no fish you will not catch any thing. I would zig-zag this drop off while trolling and see what depths the fish are relating to, also looking for points or any kind of structure above or below the water.
    Lure depth is not accurate via the depth finder when fishing a drop off. Example your boat maybe in twelve foot of water, depending on transducer location, how steep the drop off is, lenth of poles…width of boat, you maybe 3-5 foot outside of your transducers cone angle which in return means you could be in 7ft on one side of the boat and 16ft on the other.(Again depending on the statements above)
    Hope this helps and good luck!

jhalfen