Wissota Walleye Slot

• Jason Sullivan
    Chippewa Falls, WI

I’m curious to hear what folks think about the current slot on Wissota. For those that don’t know, currently there is a protected slot from 14″ to 18″ with the total harvest of three with a maximum of one over 18″.

Do you like the current slot?

If not, what would you change?

Sully

docfrigo
    Wisconsin

What is the rationale behind the slot as it is? Overall, I find it unattractive for most anglers, as the eater sized walleye is not allowed. From a fisherman’s view point, I’d rather see keep 3 fish with a slot that allowed fish from 14-20 inches and one over 30.

G_Smitty
    New Richmond, WI

Oh that’s not a loaded question … just yesterday I was lamenting that I had to throw back several nice 15″ers to 17″ers…

I’ve been fishing Wissota for only three years now but it seems to me that we’re pulling in more and more fish in the slot… Sure is frustrating when you’re trying to bring some nice walleye home for a family fish fry and you have to release most of the ‘nice’ fish you catch.

I haven’t seen too many ‘trophy’ sized fish coming out of there so I’m not too sure the slot is accomplishing that goal, if that was one of the goals of the slot. On the upside, the population seems pretty healthy with fair numbers of slot fish. Given more time, these should grow into the trophy class, assuming the river and lake can properly support a ‘large’ population of walleyes in this class-size. (A point of another debate…).