White Bass

• Ice Cap

Brought some back from Devils Lake trip this year. We got into them a couple times over three days. They sure light up your sonar when they come through and fun to catch on a ice rod! Anyhow the guide says they are good smoked so I brought some home. Anyone have any advice on smoking them? Kind of brine etc. Or any other way to prepare them.

Gino
    Grand rapids mn

I’ve been doing this dry brine for a few years for tullibee and lake and rainbow trout. I would recommend it. I don’t know if I’m not supposed to post from this site but I did. Personally for me five hours and a lite rinse is all they need (filets). I do tullibee fillets for four hours at 190

Attachments:
    1. Screenshot_2020-04-06-21-10-42.png

Gino
    Grand rapids mn

I think there might be a printing mistake though. I buy the box of canning salt and I believe it’s actually a four pound box, not five. One box of salt and one bag of brown sugar is what I’ve been doing. I mix it and store in a two gallon zip lock bag.

Ice Cap

Thanks Gino! Looks simple enough I’ll give it a try!

sktrwx2200

If you bleed them out. and then cut most the red meat out of the center line on the fillet and then cube them…. and batter and fry them..
    you’d be hard pressed to tell the difference between that and the almighty walleye.

hillhiker
    SE MN

I ate lots of smoked white bass while living out by lake Winnebago. From what I heard it seemed like most people had their own “secret” brine, but they all started out with salt and brown sugar in the ratios mentioned earlier. I don’t know if you’ve smoked much brined fish, but don’t forget to rinse them good when they come out of the brine. Some of what I had was way too salty. I made the same mistake with some smoked trout the first try at it.

I’ve been hoping to stumble into a mess of them since moving back here, but seem to strike out more often than not. If you haven’t had them smoked you will be happy you kept some after this.