What lakes are currently allowing permanent ice shelters?

• icecave22

I am brand new to using a permanent ice shelter and how to navigate using it. I have yet to be able to take it out due to conditions and time.
    Two questions:
    1. Currently (Jan.16th) what lakes would you recommend me taking my shelter out on?
    2. How do you go about finding access to plowed roads on the ice?
    Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!

AK Guy

Check the resorts on all the big lakes in Minnesota. They all maintain roads for access. Lots of ice up north so there isn’t a problem getting out.

Ripjiggen

Not sure where you are located but Mille Lacs would be a good spot to try for first time and work out some of the kinks. Plenty of resorts to go out of that all have road systems.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

What size do you have ? Where are you located. My old man has had his 6.5 x 14 out for a while. But he is pulling it by wheeler not truck. I’m driving truck out near my house now, but not many others are. I would pull a smaller shack out behind my truck right now, but only on 2 or 3 of the local lakes. And only to certain spots.

icecave22

I have a 8 x 22 Ice Cave living in East Bethel.

Coletrain27

Lotw, red, Winnie, leech, Mille lacs (not sure on the ice conditions there) all have resorts with plowed roads. Pick a lake and then pick a resort

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I have a 8 x 22 Ice Cave living in East Bethel.

Mille lacs is your best bet for trying it out. Closest to home is better. At least in my mind. 8 x 22 is heavy. Need lots of ice. It’s kind of one of those shacks you get to use near home for 1.5 months. Maybe 2.

Michael Saal
    Merrill, Wi

We were on red over the holidays and Jr’s was allowing all sizes of trucks and houses. There was 18” of ice back then.

Gregg Gunter

Check out Livin MN Outdoors on YouTube. Weekly reports on the big lakes. Worth a look.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine