Water levels – bite?

• mkrakau
    Waukee, IA

Have been planning to make the first P4 trip of the year this weekend and it looks like the water levels are predicted to rise significantly. What effect will this have on the bite? How will the higher water levels change locations/presentations?

I’ve been making trips to P4 for the last 3 years and haven’t fished it at the predicted levels. Any help is appreciated – what can I expect? Thanks and maybe we’ll see some of you this weekend!

-Mark Krakau

tee
    kasson , mn

Hay Mark I was thinking the samething this morning. The kid & I want to come up Friday.

mountain man
    Coon Valley, WI.

Probably one of the hardest sought after skills in fishing is understanding how to react to changing levels/clarity/flow. After 51 years of it, to answer your question completely would take me hours and probably more than 20 pages…so here”s links to past Ido threads

Much of walleye fishing is about flow/level/clarity of water… and eating and breeding… yeah fronts and barometer and others are factors… but to answer your question I will have to assume at least some parts of the puzzle so I will assume the weather conditions are relatively stable…on this upcoming weekend it appears that we will fall back into the winter, but in past years this close to the spawn that usually is more a matter of human comfort than walleye comfort.

http://www.idofishing.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=eye&Number=639981&Forum

FISHING IT HIGH AND MUDDY