Mississippi Pool above Coon Rapids Dam

• steinw1

I’m just starting to recon the area above the Coon Rapids dam for walleyes, as it is conveniently close to my house.
    Does anyone know much about the area as far as ‘Eyes go? Any recommendations. I’m concentrating from the dam to the Rum River in Anoka and would like to hear back from anyone with some experience seeking ‘Eyes. This is my first attempt to connect with other “River People”.

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

Cant say I have ever fished up that way. Just wanted to say welcome to the site. What are the water conditions like up that way. What I look for in other areas are current breaks. Rocks with current. Deep holes and cuts with current and rocks. Wood and current can be good also. If there is any rip rap in that section with current on it pitching or trolling cranks may be good there.

Good luck and report back on what you find.

shew
    East Bethel, Minnesota

A good spot to fish is where the storm drains come into the river. You will see the pipes on the shore above the water. Most of the time there will be a hole where the storm drain pours into the river. Set up just about that and use a slip sinker system and a leach or crawler and that will put some nice eyes and smallies in the boat. Also where the Rum comes in can be a very productive area and even up the rum to the dam. WATCH out for the rocks. Good luck and let us know how you do. Oh ya like Mike said When you find an area where someone put rocks along the shore pitching cranks and spinner baits can be a blast.

dan-larson
    Cedar, Min-E-So-Ta