clam beds

• alkfish
    St Paul MN

Just wondering what the key is to finding the clam beds. I have never fished them and I am wondering what areas are more condusive to finding them. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

~~~alkfish

rivereyes
    Osceola, Wisconsin

Im new to the whole clam bake errrrr bed idea myself…. but it seems from what Ive read on the board that if you dont already know the location of clam beds they can be found (now that the water has dropped), by viewing piles of clams along the shore…….

I DO know that when your dragging lead through them you have NO doubt they are they… its a constant tap, tap, tap that many mistake for fish the first few times they experience it…….. it seems they beds are in fairly shallow water…. say less than 10 feet…… and they are on sand……

otherwise you might ask people familiar with the pool your interested in if they have any information on the location of clam beds… as far as I know most people would probably dial you in on them as they are NOT secrets….. kind of like wing and closing dams……

alkfish
    St Paul MN

I am totally lost to the clam bake too!!!LOL I think I will try your advice rivereyes. Also, how big do these beds get? Just curious.

~~~~alkfish

rivereyes
    Osceola, Wisconsin

I dont know if its just one bed, but some I have fished are pretty darn big… one of the largest is at the base of pepin, right out from the willows in front of lacopolis…. that one seems to stretch for several hundred yards and its width is pretty much the width of the flat… Id guess at least 100 feet? been a while since I been on it… but it impressed me as being a pretty big pile of clams! that place was always a great spot in the spring.. and there are SOME years that they sit on them in the summer… could this be one of those years?

I just know I had a great day fishing clam beds on Tuesday…. what a trip…

webstj
    Mazeppa, MN