P2 Report 10/19/13

• birkato

I am fairly new to river fishing and have been reading that fall can bring in big fish in Pool 2 so I went out yesterday 10/19. I didn’t have live bait so I was using 1/2 oz long shank jigs with 5″ swimbait. I didn’t fair too well. Had a couple of strikes I missed and one hookup with a ~16″ or so Walleye..nothing else. Fished from around 4-7PM. I was mostly concentrating on the area downriver of Ford dam near the island down to the entrance of Minnehaha. Also ran down to the Minnesota River confluence with no luck. Water temp was around 52F. Also tried pulling a crank bait at about 10 ft or so with no luck. Hopefully I have better luck next time.

For Walleye would I be better off fishing the wing-dams? There aren’t many defined wing dams between St Paul and Ford dam, but there are some downriver of St Paul.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

That’s a pretty heavy bait, the flow is going good right now but I would assume you still had to work it pretty good which might be problematic if fish want a slower presentation now with the cooler water temps. Most my eyes nowadays have come with the lightest jig you can get away with to hover your bait right off bottom. All that time put in and to think you only used a couple lures I would suggest switching it up every 10 min until you find what they want. I’m pretty ADD when It comes to lure changing but every time you find the bait that is putting off the right vibe and color you will pull 2-3 fish immediately where you thought there was none. Good luck next time!

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

Quote:

For Walleye would I be better off fishing the wing-dams?

Typically focus on the upper pool earlier in the season. This time of year the main structure I would be targeting are wing dams. So from the St Paul airport area on south to Hastings. Good Luck.

-J.

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

Quote: