Vexilar flx-28 problem

• brian schultz
    Minot, ND

So I was on Devils lake this last weekend and my 28 would lock up and I would have to shut it off and turn it back on to get it to work again. I called them and the customer service said to turn it on hit the IR button twice and it wouldn’t do that. It is just a temp fix as they said I need to send it to them for a software update that will fix the problem. My only problem with that is that I would send it in the spring and wouldn’t use it again till the next winter. If it doesn’t fix it I couldn’t return it to the Scheels and would be stuck with it. I have thought about returning and going with a lx-7, but I really prefer how simple the 28 is to run. Has anyone had this update done to theirs and did it fix it? Im torn on what to do. I really like the unit as I upgraded from a fl-18 and would be totally happy if it didn’t lock up. Im not very tech savvy and the lx-7 has a lot of buttons that I could frankly screw it up by pressing them. Any insight would be great.

Boss Hawg
    Inactive
    Brainerd Lakes Area

Call Vex, they are aware of the problem and turnaround is same day. If you can put up with it till after the season, they will fix it then. They really do have outstanding service, give them a call. It sounds like all the this years batch have the same problem.

Mocha
    Park Rapids

Call Vex, they are aware of the problem and turnaround is same day. If you can put up with it till after the season, they will fix it then. They really do have outstanding service, give them a call. It sounds like all the this years batch have the same problem.

I have the same problem and have talked with Vex and my retailer. I am going to wait till spring and then all I have to do to test it is put the transducer in a 5 gal bucket of water and watch.