Twin Cities Ice Fishing End?

• Joe K

So I’m new to ice fishing and primarily fish the twin cities metro area. I’m wondering when the season typically goes until for fishing on foot with a sled and no shelter? I’ve found information about ice out being around early April but assume that means fishing typically ends earlier. Not using this as a hard/fast rule just looking for ideas on what to expect.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

It also depends on what your primary target is. Walleye/pike season generally ends earlier because it has a closed season whereas panfish season is continuous. The DNR keeps a ice-out tracker on their website too every spring so you can go to that when it has started and use that as a guide.

Joe K

Gotcha. Mostly panfish in this area.

slipperybob
    Lil'Can, MN

When you can’t hop onto the ice from shore, it’s over. I usually, no longer go sometime in first.

mnrabbit
    South Central Minnesota

If walking out, with a few safety precautions (ice picks, ropes, life jacket, floatation device, planks, fishing buddy, my mind went blank on what it’s called but the thing you jab in the ice in front of you) you can pretty much go right up until the ice has pulled away from shore and then some. Every situation and lake is different, but for the most part your north shorelines will go first. The main lake ice may still be a walkable for days or weeks longer depending on lake depth, sun angles, wind, rain, etc. While most people give it up when the ice is no longer drivable, some will go much longer. People may use wooden planks to cross a few feet from shore to the ice, or even waders or small boats. There’s not much that beats panfish ice fishing in 50 degrees in March or April. The fish are usually active, the fishing pressure is light, and the weather is great after a long winter.

I believe 2017 we were pretty much done by mid-late February. In 2018 we were still going mid-late April.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN