Turkey calling STRATEGY tutorial?

• johnee

Does anyone know of an online turkey calling tutorial or series of lessons?

I totally admit that I’m a total novice and this year will be the first time ever of taking to the field.

Let me be clear, what I’m really interested in is the strategy and NOT the how-to of using a diaphragm call to make this or that sound. I have a box call and a slate call, but making the actual sounds isn’t what I’m after here.

What I want is the strategy. You’re sitting in the woods at dawn, Mr. Big is in the roost with his harem within easy travel/hearing distance. What now?

See what I mean? The strategy. Do I gobble and challenge Mr. Big to come out and fight? Do a little lost hen cluck-cluck-purr, here I am big boy, come and get me?

I’d really like to hear the “if this situation, try this first and this second” types of things.

I have good eyes-on intel of the places we’re going to hunt so the roosting areas will be well-known. I’m confident I can get within hearing distance, but not so confident about what to call with.

Any thoughts or resources?

Thanks.

Grouse

PowerFred

I don’t know of any online tutorials, but I do have 30 years of turkey hunting experience.

1. Start soft and infrequant and work up from there. Some birds like the TV show, power calling, but most like it soft and sweet. You can always increase frequency and volume as the bird responds. If you over call right away, you can turn them off real quick.

2. when in doubt, sit tight and shut up. Birds that answer every call are asking you to come to them. Get quiet and make them come looking for the bird that WAS calling over here, but got quiet. Lots of birds have been killed by making them get curious about the hen that stopped calling.

3. Every morning and every bird is different. Some mornings they will gobble at every sound in the woods. Tomorrow they are dead silent.