Trolling Line for Walleyes

• lakedelavan

Hello everyone I am just getting into basic trolling for walleyes and I have my rods and reels already my only question is what type of line should I get. I plan on just running crank baits and crawler harnesses behind planer boards and bottom bouncing in max depth of about 20 ft. So I don’t plan on doing anything difficult but just the basics. I was thinking about 10 or 12 pound berkley mono XT or XL line. If anyone would like to help me or tell me of a different line that would be great. Thanks.

Francis K
    Champlin, MN

I have run a 6/20 in Power Pro and Spiderwire Stealth for a long time. Thinner diameter will help achieve greater depth.

Dale Rueber
    Red Wing, MN

I run #30 Suffix 832 on all my trolling rods. Very durable and gets those expensive lures out of most snags.

hl&sinker
    Inactive
    north fowl

I’m a Sufix fan. For mono sufix elite is my go to line, have not found anything stronger or last as long.
    For braid 832 performance will do the job as well as any other braid. Power pro and spiderwire are good also
    Looks like Sufix came out with a new braided line that sinks faster. 832D deep down. This sounds be good for trolling raps and bottom bouncers and 3 ways. Be intersting to see if this line be a happy medium between lead lining and long lining.

I primarily use mono but I do have 2 rods set up with braid and I’ll be giving the 832D a try.

WinnebagoViking
    Inactive

no need for braid if running boards, it can actually be a pain. 10# xt gets the job done.

sktrwx2200

Using thin diameter braided line when using planer boards is alot harder than using a good tough mono or flouro. Clips have a hard time holding onto really thin diameter line. But braid would be good for everything else you described.

Maybe 15ft outside rods and 5ft inside rods with braid would work for you. Ditch the boards. Unless you are in really clear water and wanting to get them away from the boat??

wimwuen