Thinking of upgrading my home to LED lighting

• jerad
    Otranto, IA/Hager City, WI

FW and I just bought a house end of April, awesome home but the lighting needs some attention. Right now it has the small halogen bulbs that I hear are a fire hazard because they get so hot. Another downside to the halogens is that they take a converter and several of those are burned out. We would really like to convert the whole place to LED’s. Can you do that since the converters are behind the drywall? These are 3 or 4″ cans so there isn’t much room and I am no electrician. I have calls in to a few electricians in the area but I would like to be “up to speed” when they start talking install and pricing. Thanks

404 ERROR
    MN

I fully converted my entire house in June, purchased in May. I got a deal I couldn’t refuse on Phillips LED bulbs and I couldn’t be happier. I noticed a moderate decrease in power, but I didn’t have incandescent bulbs in long enough for a good comparison. If I tell someone that visits that the whole house is LED, they are shocked, you can’t tell at all.

I’m assuming your talking about low voltage halogens? Phillips makes bulbs that can work with transformers. But if it isn’t an absolute nightmare, you can replace the transformers with LED drivers and use just about any LED bulb that fits. I am unsure of the cost savings over using the old transformers over converting to LED drivers, but I would imagine the drivers would save some money in the long run.

Come to the ‘bright’ side and make the switch, you wont regret it! (that was full of puns)
    jester

Dave Ansell
    Rushford, MN

I tried to put some cheap LED replacement bulbs in my garage and it interfered with my garage door opener. I guess there are some of the cheaper brands that have a frequency interference issue. I was using the Feit(sp) brand bulbs….

I was a painful experience to sort out and deal with…

john23
    St. Paul, MN