So what lures should a new RL guy get?

• Jonesy

So. I am new to ice fishing and just got my first rods but I have zero tackle.

I am going up with my uncle in a few weeks and staying in one of the sleeper shacks. Going for walleye what type/colors should a guy look for when going to RL? Looking at slab raps, jigging raps, rippin raps, and some spoons. Any size/color recommendations? don’t need the secret recipe but looking to be pointed in the right direction a bit.

tbro16
    Inactive
    St Paul

Just got back from a 4 day stay in a sleeper there. This was trip number 6 to URL for us. Most fish came on deadsticks. We set up our rattle reels with either bare hooks or jigs, this year it seemed like glow jigs had the most success. Jig bite was slower, but we had some success on red (silver or gold) slender spoons and uv pink ultra light rippin raps. Best colors over the years for us have been red, pink, and glow. Good luck!

Hoyt4
    NULL

Our New years was a blast up there. Ton of fish , did not seam to matter what was on the jigging rods they would just hammer them. Red buckshots and plain red hooks on the set lines. Also had one rod setup with a perch colored jigging rap. Both jigging setups where good don’t think one was way better then the other. Buckshot was a glow red .

fishingadam54

Rattle Spoons,Macho minnows,Tingler Spoons,Stop Signs all work…Red,Gold,Glow are my favorite colors but to be honest when it’s on it really don’t matter what your using I’ve seen just about everything work. Plain hooks and glow jigs on your set line and glow them up every 20 minutes at night.

hossfisher

In my experiences, it’s always good to have at least 1 rattling lure down in the house. Whether that’s a buckshot, rippin rap, clam blade spoon, or a flash bang is up to you. If they don’t hit the rattle lure, often times it will call them in to other lures/set lines in the house.

toddrun