Safe to use 30-year old ammo?

• dave_n
    Champlin, MN

Is it generally safe to use 30-year old ammo? I have a family heirloom .270 Weatherby Mag along with my Uncle’s hand loads. He was an exceptional gun guy and handloader, but should I be concerned with the age of the ammo? Thanks.

Attachments:
    1. 01D19367-C1A5-4EE7-972C-B4F861DDCAE7-scaled.jpeg

2. 0E403FE9-27DB-4BC3-8AA7-5E3AEE4464FD-scaled.jpeg

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

I’m no expert by any means but I think it has to do with how it was stored, like in a dry spot. I have used some 22 cal stuff that is that old and some worked fine while others did not fire. Was not a safety issue just would not want to drop the hammer while aiming at a deer and have it not go off.

404 ERROR
    MN

I’ve shot lots of Vietnam era ammo with no issues. If it was stored nicely, like John stated, it shouldn’t be an problem.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

I’ll start with your uncle’s handloads. I could NOT find any current load data either on the IMR database or from a quick look in the Nosler (vol 6) manual and 2 of my other factory reloading manuals that show any loads using IMR 4064. Thus, I could NOT determine if the stated 61 grain powder charge was within the known safe pressure range.

Also, the 120 grain 270 Nosler bullet has been out of production for well over a decade, so there hasn’t been reloading data published in manuals for that specific bullet for quite some time.

Unless you or someone you absolutely trust has shot those handloads and know with certainty that they are safe in YOUR rifle, I would take steps to verify that these loads at the stated powder charge are within pressure safety limits or I would not shoot them.

Overall, I would NOT shoot anyone else’s handloads unless I had personal knowledge of their construction and the steps taken by the reloader to insure safe loads.