2011 Ranger Reata with 175 Verado

• whfishman
    Des Moines, IA

Picking up my dream boat next week. Very excited, my dealer is 3.5 hours away so would like to prop the boat as close to perfect as possible. My dealer will swap props until I hit the sweet spot but with the distance between us I’d like to get it close to start. He’s recommending a Rev4 21 pitch. 21 pitch seems high but I have no experience with this boat. Probably close to 50% fishing use and 50% tubing. Do a fair amount of trolling cranks also and will not have a kicker. Looking for good top speed but still ok for tubing and occasional skiing. Anyone have this rig and can share their experience? Or any recommendations?

Wade Boardman
    Grand Rapids, MN

I can’t comment on props but I see you’ve got a Verado. Be sure you’ve got the biggest Group battery you can get in there for your main battery. Also be sure to have enough banks on your charger so you can top off your starting battery when at home charging.

It’s a highly sophisticated outboard and because of that, it’s finicky as well.

Congrats on the new rig.

trytoofish
    sw Mn.

I have a 150 Verado. I was told to not change props until after break in. and mercury kinda frowned on changing after that, they were shipped with recommended props.
    was my dealer full of bs.

igotone

Quote:

I have a 150 Verado. I was told to not change props until after break in. and mercury kinda frowned on changing after that, they were shipped with recommended props.

I would say YES

full of BS

I think motors over 100hp do not come with a prop

u should here more HERE on IDO

Maybe a 19″ Tempest would B good 4 all around

See if your dealer will let U take one along and ship back the other after U had a chance to try

shipping might B cheaper then driving, with gas prices

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

Quote: