Quest for Walleye

• Daniel Hampshire

Hello all,

I know this has been said a million times, but I just wanted to try my luck here…

I grew up in the south. Texas and Oklahoma to be exact. Bass fishing is a second religion down there. That being said, I’m no beginner to fishing but I am a beginner to a certain species. Walleye! They exist in the south, but are hard to come by where I’m from and I’ve never really targeted them. I moved to Shakopee, MN about a year ago and I’ve done my research on lures, bait’s, tackle, rods, and gear. I’m set on that matter. I’ve slayed bass, pike, and even a few ski’s this year! I just haven’t had any luck with walleye. My concern is the local waters and as we are in the fall season, I hear the bite is phenomenal. I have a 14 foot aluminum boat, a Minkota trolling motor 35# thrust, and a 9.9 HP Evanrude. Rivers are also new to me. I know walleye are known to be biting on the Mississippi, the Minnesota, and the St. Croix, but I’m just not 100% comfortable going on the river with the water levels so high, the currents so strong, and my boat being a little- little. Especially alone…. lol

That being said, I’m interested in any local lakes in the south metro, and or the southern region. Like I said, I’m located in Shakopee. I’ve heard Prior Lake, Faribault, Farmington… etc, are good for eyes. Just wanting some insight or some exact lake names. Not really looking to drive more than 45 to an hour. Thanks in advance and I’ll take any advice with an open mind!

-Dan

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

Dan