Superlines??

• fishhunter
    Stillwater, Minnesota

I am having trouble with mono lines this year for some reason so I am going to try a super line. I put on some fire line and was VERY dissapointed. It seemed to break 3 times as much as my mono. So I was wondering do I have to trim off the end if it gets a nick in it? I was thinking that this might cause the breaking. Second what kind of super line does everyone suggest? I was thinking about some spiderline fusion?????? Thanks for any input!

Good luck

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

I’ve been using fireline for 3 years now and haven’t had any problems. What knot were you using??? Try the polomar knot. Are you fishing in very rocky areas?? That’s the only time I’ve broken off, when my crank get’s snagged and I’m horsing on it instead of pulling from the reverse angle it was snagged. I haven’t lost a plug since I started going back for them. Wet the knot before cinching(sp) down also.

Otherwise I’ve heard good things about Power Pro also.

dinosaur
    South St. Paul, Mn.

I have used both Fireline and Fusion on my trolling rods this year. I also have Fireline on my live bait rod and like it for the sensitivity it offers. I have had no problems with either kind.

SetTheHook
    Iowa

I have more problems with Fireline not breaking when I would like it to. Double check your knots, the Palomar knot is the way to go.

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI

I guess I might also wonder what pound test you’re using? These lines are far superior to mono for strength but if they’re fraying close to the lure, you will lose some strength, and eventually lose a lure/jig. As mentioned, the knot is important but watch for frays above the knot. You don’t have to change it right away but you do need to be mindful of the possible consequence if you don’t keep up on it.