Fluorocarbon

• Keith
    NE Iowa

Hey guys,

Just wondering, what is the scoop on the fluorocarbon fishing line? Advantages? Disadvantages? I have never used it before.

Thanks

Keith

hooks
    Crystal, Mn.

Makes good leaders but I have not had good luck spooling the lighter weights. I know Muskie fishermen that use it for live bait rigs.

Hooks

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

One note on any fluorocarbon, it is very light sensitive. If you leave a spool of it or your leaders out in the sun, it will become weak very fast. Keep it out of the direct sun light!!!

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI

I can’t speak for all flourocarbans but the Berkley Vanish is hard to work with in jigging/lindy rig applications. When feeding line, the stuff has too much memory and just jumps off the spool, leaving a mess to tend to before you can set your hook. Cast and retrieve isn’t so bad, but I wasn’t impressed. I won’t be purchasing any more Vanish in the near future. Besides, I really like the superlines!

LeoKam
    Camp Lacupolis, MN

Wet the line when you tie knots otherwise you’ll have a lot of break-offs.

dustin_stewart
    Rochester, MN

Keith,

I would have to agree with stillakid the only thing I use fluorocarbon for is leaders on a 3-way and I only do that in the late fall or winter when you can see down about 3′ or more. This time of year there would be no reason to use it unless you like to have a lot of problems with line when you are on the water.

See ya!

Dustin

dball
    Clemson, SC

I agree with the Kid on this one. I spooled a line with Vanish tried it out the next day and the following day it came back off the spool. Just too much memory.

rivereyes
    Osceola, Wisconsin

hmmmmm gives you memory huh? maybe I better use it… cuz the PUP tells me I have NO memory…. so then I would at least finally have some!…..

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI