penn delmar 285 question

• chris
    northern Illinois

How are they as a cat reel? My neighbor gave me one with a 6 foot rod with a sheave for the tip that is about as stiff as a shovel handle that he used for shark fishing once years ago and was wondering how they are for a flathead setup. It has line on it that looks like #9 nylon twine and I cant cast even a 3 ounce sinker for than 10 yards but also wanted to know how they cast if they have heavy mono instead of kite string. I would be getting a new rod for it if would be a decent reel. Thanks

Jordan

I use Penn reels on all my cat setups but i have never used the delmar before. Penns are very durable and are made to withstand the harsh elements such as saltwater so for freshwater i think they are perfect. Im sure it will be fine but from what i have read that reel is pretty old.

Whats the gear ratio and what not on it? Im guessing pretty low. Im guessing your going to be using for one of your flathead set ups?

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

Is there a levelwind? Maybe it’s not necessary, but not having one would annoy me.

chris
    northern Illinois

Yeah it will be for flathead. I’m not sure on gear ratio. I am new to flathead and baitcasters, I have a abu 6500 and a 5600 that I got used for a good price I think at a local bait shop. I will be using the 6500 for flathead but figured I would ask about this one since I already had it I would have 2 flathead setups. There is no levelwind and I agree that it might be a pain but I will probably deal with it for this summer at least. Thanks for your help, I’m going to put it on a different rod tonight after work and see if it will cast with the kite sting line it has on it before I put new stuff on.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott