Non fishing… HSA / FSA Question – PM

• mnrabbit
    South Central Minnesota

Looking for non-fishing advice. Just realized that between my spouse (on my insurance plan, medical/full FSA through employer) and I (high deductable, entire family on insurance plan, HSA) we each signed up for one for 2022. Lack of communication on our part as you cannot have both an FSA and HSA. I do not see anyway out of the FSA, so it’ll be a loss of $2,500 for us this year. Please PM me if you have a bit of insight or a way out of an FSA, or a way of spending an FSA while having an HSA? I see no solution, but want to make sure.. If it was a limited FSA, then we could at least spend it on vision/dental.

bigcrappie
    Blaine

You need to find a health care plan professional

Icefisherguy

I will preface this by saying I am not a tax professional and it would probably be wise to speak with a CPA.

It may be helpful to look at the situation the other way around (as I believe that is how the IRS rules work). Because your spouse is contributing to an FSA, that means you are NOT eligible to contribute to an HSA this year. Or said another way, your HSA contribution limit in 2022 is $0 due to your spouse’s FSA. Further, any ‘excess’ contributions you make to your HSA would be taxed at 6% penalty per year until they are removed.

Solution 1: Withdraw this year’s HSA contribution (and any investment earnings on that contribution) before the end of the calendar year to avoid the 6% penalty. This results in the HSA contribution being included in your taxable income (as if you had never contributed to HSA in the first place). You may be able to do this all the way up until you file your taxes, but doing so before the end of the calendar year would be safest.