Newbee questions

• icecave22

I am new to using a permanent ice shelter and how to navigate using it. I have yet to be able to take it out due to conditions and time.
    Two questions:
    1. Currently (Jan.16th) what lakes would you recommend me taking my shelter out on?
    2. How do you go about finding access to plowed roads on the ice?
    Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!

MNdrifter

All the bigger lakes have resorts that plow ice roads. Some of the major ones:

Mille Lacs
    Leech
    Winnibigoshish
    Upper Red Lake
    Lake of the Woods

Folllow resorts on FB. They pretty much updated at least weekly with conditions, allowed vehicles/fish house combinations, and they keep people posted of any emergencies that come up. And believe me, they come up regularly.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

Folllow resorts on FB. They pretty much updated at least weekly with conditions, allowed vehicles/fish house combinations, and they keep people posted of any emergencies that come up. And believe me, they come up regularly.

X2

My vote would be Winnie or Red.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I wouldn’t go to red this time of year, but that’s me. It’s a think out side of the box deal. Every one is running to the same lakes and flooding them with pressure. There is plenty of smaller lakes that are ready with little to no pressure. Going to red, Winnie, leech, lotw is a easy option, but just know how over flooded with people they are. I do my best to leave these lakes alone and go else where.

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

Where do you live and how far are you willing to travel and fish species you are looking to target can also be useful info?

glenn57
    cold spring mn

heck just spend a night or 2 in it on your driveway if your just wanting to get a feel for it and what you need!!!!!!!!

if you got kids they’d love it!!!!!!

MNdrifter