New to the area and need some help!

• Sam Smith

Hey everyone, my name is Sam Smith and I just moved to Sioux Falls for a new job. Along with a couple beat up couches, a TV, and a coffee pot, I obviously also brought along all of my fishing gear in hopes of truly enjoying the South Dakota experience. I am writing here now in hopes of getting a few places to start looking. I am not looking for anybody’s secret honey hole or anything like that, just a place I can go wash some baits with a reasonable chance of catching some fish.

I also understand that a simple cry for help might not be the best approach, so here is a little info about me to maybe pull at your heartstrings or just annoy you further…I moved here from South St. Paul, MN and have enjoyed fishing adventures all over the state. I graduated from and played football for the University of Minnesota Crookston (If anyone here is a follower of Augustana or USF, that’s the team you never heard of that they beat by 50) I just started fishing for muskies this summer and was fortunate enough to boat 5 and lose my personal best 3 times including 2 mid to upper 40’s fish. Along with most people I love catching walleyes and also love smallmouth. I have also caught quite a few catfish in my 4 years at college and really enjoyed figuring out a new species. However I have a real place in my heart for big panfish. I don’t have a ton of perch experience, which I understand is a rather big deal here, but I really love giant bluegills and crappies. Essentially I’m just a guy who loves figuring out the puzzle and catching whatever is on the other end.