New to Rochester

• Bryce Comstock

Hey everyone,

I am new to Rochester after moving here from Virginia. I enjoy fly fishing and fishing for small mouth and stripers. I am looking to get into walleye if anyone is looking to mentor someone! I am looking to buy a boat, but I want to go out a few times to see what would work best for my needs. I promise to pay for gas and bring beer!

-Bryce

tbro16
    Inactive
    St Paul

Welcome to MN. Grew up in the Rochester area and have a few tips to share. PM sent!

Nick Dennison
    Rochester MN

Bryce I would encourage you to look into the walleye searchers fishing club based in rochester…we have monthly fun tournaments and you will learn a ton…www.walleyesearchers.org

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

If you have no experience with walleyes but want to dive right in, I’d pick a target destination and hire a guide. Mille Lacs, Pool 2, Pool 4 are all within reasonable distance and will show you quickly whether or not MN walleye fishing will be your main passion/target. I’ll second joining any local fishing groups you can find as well.

If you’ve got experience targeting smallmouth and enjoy them, your skills will translate well to the population we have on MN Rivers.

john23
    St. Paul, MN

For walleyes, focus on Pool 4. For small mouths, you have some decent river fishing to try but wading, not from a boat. (Zumbro River comes to mind – I grew up fishing it a little west of you). If you want to go with any frequency from Rochester, those are your closest good options.

keith schuckert

Where would one park to I have been trying to find info to wade for smallies. Would love to catch one on my fly rod but can’t find much info online.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Where would one park to I have been trying to find info to wade for smallies. Would love to catch one on my fly rod but can’t find much info online.

Keith: