New to me Mole trap

• Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

A friend of mine was talking about the “tomcat” mole trap as being the best thing since the 12 ga in ridding the yard of moles.

I’ve have good luck keeping the grubs at bay for sometime but the last few years it’s gotten a way from me and I’m paying the price with the neighbors moles swinging over for a visit. I’ve been using the loop style trap for well over 20 years and they seemed to work the best for me.

What I didn’t like about them was setting them. It’s a darn heavy spring and if it would trip in your hand there’s lots of moving parts. When my friend started talking about a mole trap that’s set with your foot, I was all ears.

Step the tunnel trip area down with your foot. Use the built in gauge to ensure it’s the right depth.
    Place the trap in the tunnel or if solid ground use something like a potato shovel to make the slots.
    Put the trap in the slots and step down on the trap pedal.

No fingers needed.

Wait 24 hours and remove dead mole or move trap to a more active tunnel.

I found them on Amazon for $19.xx plus tax, came to $21.50 with Prime.

Attachments:
    1. TomCat-Mole-trap.jpg

KwickStick
    At the intersection of Pools 6 & 7

I’ll just add that they advise you to always wear gloves to keep the human scent off the trap. I’ve done just that and have caught moles this summer like I never could with the old plunger traps.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

Yes KS, that is the metal version of the TomCat.

The plunger styles traps are frustrating at best.

dirk-w.
    Minnesota

I hate those #$%$# like the plague. When I get one I get an extra sense of gratification/glee. I got three in one day and wanted a framed 8×10 but the wife said “not a chance”.

JoeMX1825
    MN

I couldn’t agree more BK, I have a cardboard box full of different types of mole traps, that one you set with your foot is the best of the bunch!

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster