Need a reel with more drag

• mojo

After many years of using equipment that is barely adequate, I’ve decided that I want to start adding some decent reels to my catfishing arsenal. I’ve been using Ambassadeur 5500 reels for 30 years or so, and while they’re not bad, I’ve had some heartbreaking losses due to not enough drag to control the fish. I run 50-80 lb braid, and have no problems with break offs, even with the drag cranked down tight, so I need some suggestions on reels with a more powerful drag that will allow me to turn fish before they get into snags. I am also aware that there is a way to upgrade the drag on the Ambassadeur reels, so I may try that as well, but I want to upgrade at least a couple reels to completely new – I do tend to neglect my catfishing equipment more than other fishing equipment, so some of my equipment deserves to be retired. I keep at least 6 rods on hand for cats because I often have guests that fish with me and they typically don’t have reliable equipment for large cats, so I need to keep my equipment on the less expensive side.
    I have never used anything but baitcasting equipment, plus I hate the look of the huge spinning reels, and most importantly, I need my reels to have a clicker. I don’t need a huge line capacity at all, but typically the larger framed baitcasters have a larger drag, which is very important to me.
    I’m open to any suggestions, especially since I haven’t even looked at new equipment for at least 20 years, so by all means, enlighten me as to any new brands, techniques or equipment.
    I’ll probably start to replace rods eventually, but rods are not as critical as the reel, so those will have to wait.

sorgy