Mississppi Locks Schedule

• dank
    Minneapolis, MN

Hello-

Is there a link to find what times the locks are running on the Mississppi, specifically for Red Wing? Or are you able to get through as you show up? how much time should I estimate the lock process to take?

Looking at the map it appears that going from Stillwater (St. Croix) to Pepin would be ~50 miles and only go through one lock.

I have never used a lock before.

thanks for any and all help.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

First come first serve Dan. No preset schedule.

Locking through right now will take about 15-20 minutes assuming there isn’t any barge traffic. Now the river just opened up (for barge traffic) on the 7th.

Last weekend there were pretty much 2 to 4 waiting to lock through at any given time including all hours of the night.

The good thing is most should all be through by now…the bad thing is they will all be coming back down stream soon.

If your stuck behind one of the larger ones, it’s going to be a 1.5 to 2.5 hour wait.

I’ll post the link to how to lock through in a moment.

When are you going?

dank
    Minneapolis, MN

I am looking to go this Sunday.

Thank you

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

Stillwater to the confluence is a fun trip. )
    Did that one day last summer when it was too darn hot to fish. Down and back.

dank
    Minneapolis, MN

How long did it take you?

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

What speed does your boat go?

The no wake zones slow a person down.
    Afton
    Kinney
    Prescot

Using my 90 horse it’s about 2.5 hours from Afton to lock and dam 3. Taking my time as 20 – 25 mph.

1. Approaching a lock either radio to the operator your direction of travel or pull on the cord that’s located in the ladder way on the wall and wait for directions. If the lock is busy or there is a tow coming out, stay out of the way of the exiting traffic.