One Very Sad Elk Hunt…

• webstj
    Mazeppa, MN

The story of this elk hunt begins with a little background of who I am and what I do for a living. In my profession, I am a project manager for a large construction company. In January of this year myself, and my company were awarded a very large construction project near Chamberlain, SD with roughly a 2yr project schedule. The project we are involved with is a high profile gov’t project and receives a visit from SD Senator’s on a monthly basis as it is packed with roughly $45,000,000 dollars of ARRA funds so every Democrat and Republican has there eye on it as they want to prove to each other that it is or isn’t money well spent, providing jobs, etc etc.

The point of this historical overview is that the project comes with a stress level of 12 on a 10pt scale and commercial construction in my opinion is one of the most stressful industries to begin with. We are too slow and too expensive no matter how good you are.

At current, we are now in month 6 of construction and winter is fast approaching so myself and my construction team are a great big conglomoration of anxiety. One might ask in this situation, “How can you take time off to hunt, have fun or whatever if you are that busy and it is that important of a project?”, but for me it is critical to our sanity and I admit as well, hunting is THAT important!

So a few months ago, my other PM colleague on the job decided that he and our Superintendent needed a break from the job and were going to head to Alberta for an outfitted Elk hunt. I agreed that I would watch over the jobsite this week while they went hunting, and when they returned I would take a week off and head home for a week of MN Rut action.