Elk calls ???

• big_g
    Isle, MN

What do you guys suggest a rookie get for a couple of Elk calls ? I have never done it and probably need to get working on them. Looking for cow and bull I guess…. any ideas for a new guy ??? Thanks !!!

lick

primos hoochie mama easy to use and sounds great

cant believe i just told G to get a hoochie mama

DANPEARSON
    Central WI

Big G, I am a rookie too. This fall will be my first trip chasing elk. I purchased the hoochie mama too, and it sounds great. If you can call turkeys with a mouth call, you’ll have no problems with elk calls either. I purchased the following Primos mouth calls and the are easy to use and sound great: Primos Sentry Plate, Hyper Plate, Imperial Plate and the Ivory Plate. You can use these calls too if you intend to do some bugling as well. Good luck!

les_welch

Quote:

What do you guys suggest a rookie get for a couple of Elk calls ? I have never done it and probably need to get working on them. Looking for cow and bull I guess…. any ideas for a new guy ??? Thanks !!!

If you are serious about learning elk hunting go to this website http://elknut.com/ and purchase the playbook you see on the front page. Get a chuckler tube, and a Mellow yellow to start with. I would highly suggest the 4 pack of DVD’s Bugling Bulls and Beyond. You will NOT regret it. You will NOT learn more, faster, any other way. The playbook is a must for any elk hunter, period. If you have ANY questions, give Paul a call. These guys are elk hunting machines.

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN

Quote: