Navionics or Lake Master?

• zach_bindert
    Cedar Falls, Iowa

I am a newbie to GPS charts, would like to know if anyone has any opinion on which chip is better. I mainly fish in Iowa, but with my parents moving to Duluth I anticipate fishing in Minnesota more. I used my frineds Navionics chip from 2009 and I like it but it didn’t have any fishing hot spots loaded. Do the newer chips have this feature, and if they do does it help?

bassn7
    Bruce,WI

the biggest thing I’ve seen is you need to look at which lakes each company has on thier chips they don’t have the same lakes all the time, I would say that the surveyed maps that lakemaster has are more acurrate than the navionic chip. Stan

jeff_huberty
    Inactive

Lakemaster hands down

Navionics has the worst customer service I have ever encountered.

Navionics never again.

IMHO

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

I fish MN, not sure about IA chips. I will say this though…

When I first got my GPS in 07′ I got Nav because I was short on $$$ and they offered more lakes.

Shortly after I did buy the LM solely on the fact they they have WAY bettermaps for the lakes they did offer. And have since added many more lakes to their line-up.

Since my first O8′ LM chip I have added the LM LOW/Rainy and LM 2010-MN. And have maybe used the NAV chip a few times for the rare occasion LM does not have the maps I need.

So basically it boils down to if LM offers your lake list. If so I would deffinatley go that route. -Mark

Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

I have used the Nav Prem North chip for many years….

With the limited knowledge I had with mapping it was a great improvement over having nothing at all… I still use it for my Mississippi River fishing in SW Wisconsin (until LM updates my pools) but with the LM chip for LOTW and Rainy Lake they really have some impressive looking maps.