Is it just me

• mike mulhern

I can hardly stand to look at the farmland that is tilled in the fall leaving next to nothing protecting the dirt and nothing for wildlife to live on or seek shelter with crop residue. I am a farmer and do not till anything in the fall. I wonder what percent of this is done on rented ground.

deertracker

I agree. Watching some of the fields this fall. They went from corn to black bare dirt in 2 days. I’m not a farmer, is it just time saved in the spring or why are the plowed over so quick?
    DT

Iowaboy1

Been living with that for years around central Iowa, most of the state nowadays.
    I can remember when I was young we were told over and over to practice soil conservation as we were losing 3 ton of top soil per year per acre.
    Now with no till or minimum tillage we are flushing way more than that right down the river, makes me sick!
    I can remember my dad saying we plant three seeds, one for us, one for the critters and one for the poor folks.
    Not so much left over for the critters anymore.

Angler II

I agree. Watching some of the fields this fall. They went from corn to black bare dirt in 2 days. I’m not a farmer, is it just time saved in the spring or why are the plowed over so quick?
    DT

Farmers turn their fields immediately in the fall so they can dry in the spring and warm up. Black soil drys faster than residue covered soil. Our northern growing season is short and they want to get into the fields ASAP. They can’t plan the weather and have to utilize the windows.

More and more farmers are utilizing light cover crops to help with erosion.

I don’t agree with it but they feed us and the the animals we eat.

Red Eye

Been living with that for years around central Iowa, most of the state nowadays.
    I can remember when I was young we were told over and over to practice soil conservation as we were losing 3 ton of top soil per year per acre.