Ice Fishing Buddies and Auger Troubles

• acafisherman19

Went out today on a local lake, fishing buddy didn’t show up for whatever reason, so had to pack all the stuff out by myself, lost about an hour or two of fishing time plus the three extra tip-up lines. Has anyone else had similar experiences? What did you do?

Also, my recently purchased late 90’s Jiffy Model 30 cut through the first 15″ of ice, but the last 1″ I could not get. Luckily I had a hand auger along and cut the last inch off. This is my first time with a power auger so that may be why, but can anyone give me any tips?

Thanks for the input,

acafisherman19

Mocha
    Park Rapids

I have a couple buddies in the past that I no longer fish with because they either failed to show up at all or constantly late for the day. I have only so many days to play and I am not going to let a couple of lackey’s wreck my day.

As far as the auger not going through the last inch…. did you need quit a bit of downward pressure for the first 15″?

josh a

buddies and fishing buddies are not always the same thing. I hate planning a whole day of fishing a week in advance just to have the buddies show up late or cancel at the last minute. I have everything I need to go fishing so I usually just tell people what time I’m going to be at the lake, if they meet me there its awesome, if not, I have no problem with silence. No help with the auger. Seems odd it won’t cut the last 1″. Maybe the auger has worn down into a cone shape?

acafisherman19

I was basically just letting gravity do it’s thing as I have seen many people do, and it does really rip through the ice until the very end, and then only the head unit spins like the auger itself is stuck. I don’t know if it could be a cone, how would it have been worn down to that shape?

Wade Boardman
    Grand Rapids, MN

Quote: