Oiling up Reels

• scmelik
    South Dakota

I feel kind of foolish posting this but this is something I have never done, never thought about, never cared about before. Up until the past few years my gear has been cheap combos from the big box stores and they have worked well, I’ve caught a lot of fish and had a great time. Now that I am slowly upgrading all of my equipment to more expensive nicer rods and reels I want to make sure I am taking care of them as best as I can which means that its time to put a little Hot Sauce on my reels.

Since I have never done this before I am not 100% sure exactly how, where to put oil. Can someone walk me through it and if you could throw up a picture or two that would be even better.

Thanks guys

Scott

dank
    Minneapolis, MN

I’m excited to hear the responses too.

what do you put oil on vs. grease too?

thanks

Phil Bauerly
    Walker, MN - Leech Lake

This might not be the answer you are looking for but I send mine in for cleaning/lube annually. I have done it myself in the past but just one broken or lost part can be a real pain, especially with my clumsy/fat fingers.

nic-habeck
    Lake Mills, WI

Google your reel type/make for specifics. I use the standard oil that came with them. Most spinning reels have an access port to add a drop, lube the bail, wipe down, loosen drag to store. Most bait casters remove reel handle (tool came with reel) and remove drag wheel to expose bearing for a drop of lube. Remove spool tension knob, usually a spring underneath careful not to loose and lube bearing under. Remove non reel side cover and lube bearing. Lube both sides of worm gear and turn a few cranks. Loosen drag and tension for storage and wipe down. Takes me about an hour for 4 spinning and 10 baitcasters.

Paul Delaney