Need Help on 1st Rod for Beginner … which TB?

• KeithNyst

I’m a beginner getting ready for retirement and want to pick up where I left off over 40 years ago. I read a lot of the posts; very helpful. For a first rod, I will be concentrating on walleye, mostly on Vermilion where we’ll be retiring to. Will primarily fish in an Otter Pro Wild (so thought a 28″ would be best).

I’m thinking about buying a TB 28″ Medium Walleye Sweet Heart. Need advice on which handle. It looks like TB offers 4 handle variations: Locking Tennessee, Hidden Hood, Spinning Reel Seat, and plain cork … all Greek to me, excetp the spinning real seat. Which one should I get and why?

Any other advice appreciated. P.S. – I’m thinking about a Shimano Sahara 750 for a reel.

Thanks, Keith

Keppinhiemer

Keith,
    Most of that depends on what you like, but the gear you have your eye on is all quality stuff. The handle i like to use is the plain cork handle, because you can place the reel wherever it feels best. I use electrical tape to secure the reel to the cork and its as solid as any reel seat.
    Josh

Chode2235

I would probably go with the TB 28″ perch sweetheart. I have a 32 inch, and love the extra length, but you have to be able to set the hook effectively in your shanty. Perch sweetheart is a little bit lighter and handles 1/8oz jigging spoons a bit better (which is probably going to be your bread and butter on those Big V walleyes).

length and action are key not only for fighting fish, but more importantly in how you deliver the lure. Thats why I like the lighter perch sweetheart in the longer length (but if I fished inside all the time I would get it a bit shorter).

Its my primary walleye rod and I fish Vermilion once in a while, and LOW a lot in the winter.

I would go for the shorter handle (with the TB decal in the butt), not the one that flairs out at the end, and use electrical tape. The reel seat is unnecessary and unwanted IMO.