Hunting App

• Sharon
    SE Metro

My husband Billy is looking for a new hunting app. He had been using something called Trimble GPS Hunt, but the app wouldn’t load and is no longer in service apparently. He would like to use an app for marking deer stands and trials, and also for food plot marking, etc. He has a trial version of HuntStand app and he’s wondering if anyone else uses that one? Or if you guys have other any other app suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Migz
    Lakeville

I have been using the free version of onX Hunt app. It’s amazing and I like how I can actually log into it online on a computer to and look at all the spots I’ve set up on my phone. I’ve been using it for 2 years now and highly recommend it. You can make tracks, mark stands, save maps for areas without service, track your route when you are tracking deer in the middle of the night to find your way out…

Aaron

I used the same thing. It shut down last summer or fall. I use onX Hunt now and just pay for the monthly service during hunting season. Works awesome.

He has a trial version of HuntStand app and he’s wondering if anyone else uses that one? Or if you guys have other any other app suggestions? Thanks in advance!

I have the huntstand app and really like it, I tried the free trial of OnX but I dont travel outside of my core area enough to make it worthwhile for all of the features to pay for it. Hunstand allows you to mark trails and gives you wind direction ideas for deer and duck hunting, also the free version gives you landowner parcel names.

Jason Beaulieu

I used the Huntstand app up until my last trip to North Dakota this fall, usually when I don’t need property ownership info. Unfortunately, as of late it seems to be filled with more “features” that seem to slow it down with added ads and what not. Not as quick to just pull up and open map anymore. (I don’t need to watch the carbon tv channel when I am looking at my maps! lol)