GM mechanics familiar with 2011 Acadia,Traverse, etc

• hookem
    Hastings,Minn.

Looking to possibly purchase a 2011 GMC Acadia, appears they have had some transmission and timing chain stretching issues. What are your thoughts on this.

CaptainMusky

I’m not a mechanic, but we have a 2009 Outlook which is the same thing. I am fairly certain that those issues you referenced were for the older models prior to 2011. We actually had the timing chain replaced under warranty at 119,000 miles (they extended it to 120k) because of all the problems.
    We bought the vehicle used and its been a pretty good vehicle. We have taken it all the way to Houston, TX and back twice and never had any problems. The one thing I complain about and continue to have issues with is headlight bulbs. These dang things burn out ridiculously often. Just replaced one again last night.
    I had to replace the plug on one side because the original one burned and so far that repair has been fine, but literally I have replaced the bulbs like 7 times in 3 years.

TipUpFishOn

I’ve seen many of the timing chain stretching complaints. If you’re looking at a V6, the 3.6’s are notorious for the front timing chain cover leaking oil. Had a 2009 chevy malibu with the same engine and had the leak. Talked with a mechanic at the GM dealership a couple times about it and he said they’ve seen loads of SUVs with that engine with same problem. Pre-purchase inspection should tell you if it’s an issue.

bigcrappie
    Blaine

Pre-purchase inspection should tell you if it’s an issue.

^^^^^^^^^^

chuck100
    Platteville,Wi.

Have the rear suspension looked at.They have some bushings on the lateral arms that get worn and wear the tires off on the edges.We have a few that come into our shop with a bunch of miles and can only think of one that had tranny issues.That one was at about 75-80000 thousand.I’m not even sure it was an issue but GM paid 1\2 or 3\4 of it.I think to get her off there back.

hookem