What would you do question?

• hoistafish1
    Long Prairie,MN

Daughter and son-in-law had hail and strong straight line wind damage to their home roof in last storm bout. They had the insurance adjuster out to survey damage and they were denied coverage for replacement because the roof was 40% damaged and to be covered it has to be 47%. I told them to tell the insurance company to send out a second adjuster for another estimate. Any other thoughts?

norseman
    FAIRMONT MN

My adjuster actually got up and counted shingles on my roof.:(

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Stick Boy<<<

Call Stick he’ll know what if anything can be done.

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

I do storm restoration for a living. Have them find a good contractor, one that is reffered to them from someone they know.
    They should be allowed a reinspect, make sure the contractor has worked with insurance companies, will meet with the adjuster on site during reinspect and absolutley must have Xactimate. It is a competer program that 98 percent of ins co. use for putting togther their scope of loss report.

It is common for adjusters to be tight on what they total during the first few weeks just after a storm. I have found that they get easier after they have worked the area for a bit. -pm for any further questions, Mark

northstar42
    west central Minnesotsa

So is the insurance company going to replace every fourth shingle? They have to cover the damage that is there. This sounds like baloney to me. Get a contractor and make them do it over. The contractor should be able to tell how much it will cost to replace it and the insurance company should be liable for that amount.

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

Remember, the adjuster works for the insurance company, not the customer filing a claim. Though most try to be fair and straight in their reports, it usually appears more slanted to the insurance company.