Water Heaters?

• the_grump
    Le Center

Well my eleven year old heater, with a ten yr warranty took a on me. So now I have some questions.

Is a heater with a longer warranty built any better than one with a shorter one? Or is the extra price for the warranty?
    Does anybody have an opinion on tankless units (on demand units)
    I need a natural gas model with power venting.

KirtH
    Lakeville

I have a tankless one of the best investments I have ever made, not all are equell, I bought the Noritz do a google search

ironheadr5
    Northeast, Iowa

Go with the Tankless. I put one in when I built my house 10 years ago,Have not had to touch it since.. Cost more to start with but pays for itself in the long run.

AllenW
    Mpls, MN

Look at ALL the costs to install a tankless water heater, including maintenance I think you may find unless you can do it your self, costs are going to make it hard justify.

Al

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

As a High-end home builder, I have looked at so many different options. If you go with a tank, Don’t waste your time on a 40 gallon water. 50 gal min. Operating costs per gallon is better on a larger system. Yes, you will pay for the warranty, no matter what the duration is. As part of the manufacturing, it is calculated into the cost. No, just because they have a longer or shorter warranty, it does not directly reflect on the quality of the unit – Warranty time only gives you a perceived value. If you buy a “Builder’s” version, you will save a little. The only difference is the pretty paint job that is done for the retail sales market. For the builder, basic looking is fine for less money. I am a fan of AO Smith, and a long term history of good performance with very minimal premature failures. If your on a well, you should be filtering your water before the water heater. Also, if you back flush them out once a year, the tanks will last a lot longer. Sediment will collect on the bottom of the tank and eventually shorten the li