Wonderful Folks Still Out There

• minaki
    Mount Pleasant IA

As I was traveling to Lake of the Woods a week ago. The wheel bearing in my truck decided to go out. Very unfortunate timing given the fact that it was 2AM on a Sunday morning, raining, and my son and I were heading up for a trip we had been planning for 10 months. I must also mention the fact there was no part store in sight and I have no knowledge how to fix my broken truck. We coasted into a town called Northome Mn. and stopped at a dark gas station, which by the grace of God was going to open at 7:30 am ( on a Sunday ). Fisher Petroleum of Northome Mn. At 7:30 the owner Gary Fisher, arrived to open everything. I must mention several locals seem to help Gary with firing up the coffee pots and turning on the lights. Once this was done Gary turned to me and asked what I needed. Gary then proceeded to open his shop and tell me ” anything in this shop is yours to use to fix your truck” Being a smart man, Gary quickly could see that I had no idea what I was doing. Gary jumped into his jeep to retrieve the retired town mechanic from home who was getting ready for church. Bill the mechanic, arrived quickly. Upon fast inspection Bill diagnosed my problem and instructed me how to fix. Bill could tell I had no idea what to do. Bill made a call to BlackDuck Napa to locate a part. Now this was approx. 14 miles each way. How in the world do I get there? Before I finished my thought. Gary Fisher was fueling up his jeep for my trip. When I returned with the part. I find Bill elbow deep into my broken wheel bearing. My truck was back together in no time. Thanks to Bill we continued heading north to Lake of the Woods.
    Bill refused to accept any payment for repairing my truck and Gary loaned us his Jeep and entire shop to complete strangers.