Brake Job

• doubleshot
    Brooklyn Park, MN

***Disclaimer: I am not overly mechanical

My truck’s brakes are starting to make some noise, sounds a bit like rubbing/grinding.
    I am very tempted to attempt the brake job myself. It’s obviously quite a bit cheaper, but also something good to learn. From what I hear & see it’s not the most difficult task ever
    I have seen it done in person a couple times.

Here is my concern. I am not a mechanic, I am most worried about ensuring the correct diagnosis. How much opportunity is there that this is something different or larger than just new brakes.

Thanks for any input!
    Oh: 2007 F150 FX4

Kevin

jerry b
    western WI

Depending on how far down they’re worn, you might have to pop for some new rotors. For sure you should get yours resurfaced. Take photos and document everything as you remove parts. These modern digital cameras and printers are a blessing. Look it up on the internet, it’s not brain surgery you can do it jerr

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

They make a few different sizes of brake parts for them.

My 04 has 3 or 4 different sizes based on rims dia. and trim pkg.

I have gotten into brake jobs and found i was given the wrong parts. It is a HUGE pisser, espicially if its a sunday of your dont have another vehicle to go get the correct parts.

I say do it early on a saturday.

It is an easy task, i generally will buy rotors, pads and a can of brake cleaner. The 150 is an easy system.

Return the rotors if you do not need them. With the cost of rotors vs turning them its not worth it. Also there are way too many “parts jockeys” that have no clue on the run out when urning and will turn a rotor horribly crooked.

I run napa lifetime rotors and ceramics, great life span. I am easy on the brakes compared to most drivers.

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond